An innovative biological solution to controlemerald ash borer.

For more information

An innovative biological solution to controlemerald ash borer.

For more information

The FraxiProtecTM solution

The solution is deployed through an assisted auto-contamination device comprised of a pouch coated with the active ingredient that is placed in a contamination chamber high up in an affected ash tree.

During the Emerald Ash Borer (EAB) flight period, adults get attracted by the control device and become infected by the fungus. Contaminated males and females circulate in the surrounding trees and become vectors of the deadly fungal disease.

How it works

Both laboratory and field studies have demonstrated that FraxiProtec™ is an effective solution in controlling EAB adults. EAB adults getting in contact with the conidia (asexual, non-motile spore of a fungus) at the pouch surface were successfully contaminated, resulting in a mortality rate of up to 100 % within 5 days. Current research has also demonstrated promising results of horizontal transmission of the pathogen from male to female during the mating period. One of the major aspects of the effectiveness of FraxiProtec™ is that it contributes to a significant reduction in egg-laying in the surrounding area where the device is deployed. These aspects make FraxiProtec™ a very promising control tool since it directly impacts on the population dynamics where it is set up and indirectly allows the ash trees to better resist larvae invasion on an ongoing basis.

Safety information

The FraxiProtec™ active ingredient is a fungus, Beauveria bassiana, isolate CFL-A. After many lab tests, the efficacy of that isolate against EAB has been demonstrated. Furthermore, the fungus does not represent a threat to other beneficial insects since the active ingredient is contained in the contamination chamber and not sprayed in the environment. There is definitely no impact on Hymenoptera (bees and other insects of that order). Lab experiments have been conducted to document its innocuity. The safe use of B. bassiana is widely known and accepted in organic farming with documentation supporting the safety of its use. There is extensive literature regarding its innocuity on mammals, fish, humans and other elements of the environment. Pertinent literatures and commentary on these aspects can be found in the resources section.

Advantages of this innovation

  1. Infected EAB adults become vectors of the fungus
  2. Female mortality reduces oviposition on ash trees near infection stations
  3. Potential to protect a group of ash trees following the deployment of assisted auto-contamination devices
  4. Biological
  5. Can be used in any kind of EAB population density and is a preventive control strategy
  6. Limited impact on non-target species
  7. Can be used in synergy with conventional pesticides

Ask us how FraxiProtecTM can help you protect your forest.

Contact us

Toll free : 1-833-265-1200

Stay informed

Get updates on new FraxiProtecTM developments and market availability.

Partners

Une solution biologique novatrice pour contrôler l'agrile du frêne.

Obtenir plus d'informations

Une solution biologique novatrice pour contrôler l'agrile du frêne.

Obtenir plus d'informations

Fonctionnement du FraxiProtecMC

Le système repose sur un dispositif d’autodissémination assistée comprenant une pochette imprégnée d’un champignon qui agit comme ingrédient actif, placée dans une chambre de contamination près de la cime de l’arbre contaminé.

Ce dispositif attire les agriles adultes en période de vol, puis ceux-ci sont alors contaminés par le champignon. Les femelles et les mâles contaminés deviennent ainsi, en circulant dans les arbres voisins, les vecteurs d’une maladie fongique mortelle.

Efficacité

Des études en laboratoire et sur le terrain ont démontré l’efficacité de FraxiProtecMC comme système de lutte contre l’agrile du frêne adulte. En effet, les agriles adultes en contact avec les conidies (spores non mobiles assurant la reproduction asexuée du champignon) à la surface du sachet sont bel et bien contaminés : le taux de mortalité après cinq jours peut même atteindre 100 %. Les travaux en cours ont par ailleurs produit des résultats encourageants quant à la transmission horizontale du champignon pathogène du mâle à la femelle pendant l’accouplement. L’efficacité de FraxiProtecMC réside notamment dans la réduction considérable de l’oviposition observée dans les environs du dispositif. FraxiProtecMC semble donc très prometteur, puisqu’il agit directement sur la population d’agriles adultes près du système et améliore indirectement la résistance des frênes aux infestations de larves.

Innocuité

L’ingrédient actif de FraxiProtecMC est l’isolat CFL-A du champignon Beauveria bassiana, dont l’efficacité contre l’agrile du frêne a été démontrée lors de nombreux essais en laboratoire. Par ailleurs, le champignon ne pose aucun danger pour les autres insectes, puisque l’ingrédient actif est dissimulé dans une chambre de contamination au lieu d’être pulvérisé dans l’environnement. Les hyménoptères (abeilles et autres insectes du même ordre) ne sont donc aucunement touchés. L’innocuité de B. bassiana a été démontrée en laboratoire et plusieurs sources confirment que ce champignon peut être utilisé sans risque dans les cultures biologiques, où il est très répandu. De nombreuses études démontrent qu’il est sans danger pour les mammifères, les poissons, les humains et d’autres éléments de l’environnement.

Avantages du FraxiProtecMC

  1. Les agriles du frêne adultes infectés deviennent des vecteurs.
  2. Possibilité de protéger un groupe de frênes après l’installation d’un réseau de dispositifs d’autossidémination.
  3. Stratégie de contrôle préventif qui peut être employé peu importe la densité de la population.
  4. Peut être utilisé en synergie avec des pesticides conventionnels.
  5. La mortalité chez les femelles réduit l’oviposition près des stations de contamination.
  6. 100 % biologique.
  7. Répercussions restreintes sur les espèces non ciblées.

Demandez-nous de quelle manière FraxiProtecMC peut vous aider à protéger votre patrimoine forestier.

Pour en savoir davantage, écrivez-nous en utilisant ce formulaire :

Demeurez informé

Inscrivez-vous à notre infolettre pour être à l'affût des nouveautés liées à FraxiProtecMC et être informé de sa commercialisation.

Partenaires